top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecca R

Crossing the Bridge

Rebecca has been gone for two weeks - it still feels like yesterday but then sometimes it feels like it’s been longer. Today also marks the day that she planned on finishing this journey across Texas - her “A” goal was 21 days.


With all the crazy weather we had the past week I think about how we would have been out in it. Honestly, I think she would have loved to run in the snow! She loved to run in the rain so snow in Texas would have been great and after we complained how hot it got during week 1, we would have joked that we didn’t mean for it to be this dang cold! I would have likely chickened out of trying to survive at night in the 0 degree sleeping bags in the van and gotten us hotel rooms to stay at along the way. We would have survived on soup, coffee and hot chocolate. But if the water froze in the van...chingow, I can see it now! LOL 😆 Keith would have been with us this past week though so he would have taken care of us.


I imagined today what it would be like to video her as she crossed the bridge over the Sabine River outside of Burkeville, Texas. We would hug, take pictures at the Louisiana-Texas border signs, relax and reminisce after getting to a hotel to rest and recoup before driving home probably tomorrow.


Instead, I finally got some miles in on the trails with Keith for the first time after getting back and spent the day with her family. I know that she did cross the bridge, but I’m selfishly sad that I didn’t get to experience it with her.

Service plans are still pending unfortunately. The go fund me response has been amazing. Thank you to everyone. ❤️

262 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Remembering and Celebrating Smalls

My Smalls. Having a friend with the same name was cool but also felt weird sometimes. When we were together and introduced ourselves to people we would get weird looks and would have to clarify that n

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page