top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecca R

On our own - Day 2

Updated: Feb 2, 2021

I’m going to try to update the blog on my phone as I have service along the way because it is spotty, so you may see multiple updates to this post during the day.

Let me back up to last night. All was going ok after we went to bed except I got up to pee a little before midnight. Then I couldn’t go back to sleep for a while. Just as I was dozing off I heard a motorcycle coming down the highway and it got closer and closer right up until it pulled up and parked RIGHT behind us. Music playing and all. So I sat straight up and whispered to Rebecca that someone was here. We waited and waited - heard some male low voice and then a car pulls up too. Of course I’m a little freaking out but keeping calm. Some doors open and close to the car. Not too much noise from them. They were probably parked there around 2 hours. We heard them drive off - whew! Needless to say, it was fine but geezus don’t scare me like that!


Rebecca started off right before 5 am. Border check point was good - they were super friendly and asked all sorts of questions about her run. Now we are on our own the rest of the day. No gas stations or stores until Orla which is days away. Even the one cafe between now and there that we will pass by today just happens to be closed on Tuesdays only - what luck.


Sunrise was gorgeous this morning! I’m enjoying the scenery for sure.


End of Day Update:

It got hot today! The sun bakes you like a refried bean lol. 😉 All in we are at mile 88 - woohoo! She did AWESOME!


After getting to Cornudas, home of the only restaurant between outskirts of El Paso and Orla (on our route at least), it was rest time for a bit. Even though they were closed, the owner came out and asked if we needed anything. We were getting low on ice and he filled our ice chest up - thank you to him!! I didn’t catch his name but I think he said his grandma ran it for 50 years and now he does. He also hooked us up with some muffins!


I will say everyone has been super friendly along the way - especially our friend Juan Martinez with TxDot. He stopped Rebecca and I this morning to check on us. He then saw us at Cornudas to see if we needed anything. He works this stretch of the highway - highway 62 is what we have been on ever since we left El Paso. Look forward to see Juan tomorrow!


I love how it’s the small town feel where everyone knows and helps each other. Also, this part of Texas is what I consider the last raw piece of the state. Its the part of the state where the (probably not cactus at all but in my head that’s what I’m calling them - see below) outweigh the people.


Tomorrow’s plan is another early start to another productive day. Supposed to be warmer (yuck) and windy tomorrow afternoon (hopefully a tail wind at least). I’ve never been to Guadalupe Mountain National Park but we will be going right by it which I’m sure will be beautiful. Here’s hoping to a good restful nights sleep.









241 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Remembering and Celebrating Smalls

My Smalls. Having a friend with the same name was cool but also felt weird sometimes. When we were together and introduced ourselves to people we would get weird looks and would have to clarify that n

Crossing the Bridge

Rebecca has been gone for two weeks - it still feels like yesterday but then sometimes it feels like it’s been longer. Today also marks the day that she planned on finishing this journey across Texas

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page